The Vampire Who Loved Me


Once, as a girl of seventeen, beautiful, headstrong Portia Cabot saved the cursed life of the dashing vampire Julian Kane – who marked her forever, then left to go in search of his soul. He returns five years later to find the enchanting young girl he left behind grown into a bewitching woman with a woman’s heart . . . and a woman’s desires. 

 

Julian Kane is tired of living. The problem is he’s already dead, undead.  Portia Cabot has been in long with Julian since the age of seventeen. Julian has been bitten by Duvalier, a vampire who took possession of Julian’s soul. He locked Portia and Julian together in a crypt in hopes that Julian would her, and along with her death he would put an end to his human side. Portia offers herself to Julian to save his life, but instead of killing her, he only takes enough blood to survive. The detail of what actually occurred in that crypt has been kept a secret from Carolyn Cabot, Portia’s older sister and Julian older brother Adrian who are now married. After the incident, Julian left home in search of Duvalier and his soul.

Julian has been gone for five years but Portia has never stopped thinking about him. A school girl crush is gone, and replaced by a wonton love of a grown woman. When she discovers he has returned home, those old feelings come rushing back. When she discovers that Julian return home coincides with a string of deaths that have occurred she set out to confront him.  When the truth finally reveals itself it is almost too late. Julian is not responsible for the murders. It is a jealous past lover, Valentine who has been luring the woman to their deaths. The two develop a plan to pose as vampire lovers to draw her out in the open to put an end to Valentine. The plan goes awry, Julian and Portia are forced to seek safe shelter from Valentine. Through the dramatic events of the night, Portia finds the she is the center of Julian’s affection. To love each other is the one thing they both want and need but they will have to fight to get it.

The Vampire Who Loved Me was a beautiful tale of love, death and flat out vampire mayhem. The title alone lured me into it. Who wouldn’t want their very own vampire to love? I did after reading this story. Teresa Medeiros paint a picture that takes you into the story with character descriptions so vivid, I felt I knew the characters.  I fell for Julian instantly, a beautiful man, with a dark spirit, undead but with the ability to love. Then there is Portia, a strong woman even for her time. Young, yes but she is a woman who knows what she wants and sets out on a course to get it. I felt everyone bit of pain and pleasure through this one.

If you are looking for a story of violent vampires, who take a woman by force and led her through the darkness, this is not the book you’re looking to buy. If you’re in need a romance placed in a romantic time period where love can and does conquer all, I would say this book is definitely worth a read. 

4 thoughts on “The Vampire Who Loved Me

  1. I do it all the time, of course if the book is really good, I go back and read the series in order. 🙂
    Have a great weekend.

  2. I’m the same way Ann is. Of course if I find out the book is in a series before I read it, I’ll wait until I can get the first books before I read it. But that’s just me. 🙂

  3. Okay my TBB list and my TBR pile are just going to get larger. I love the Angel/Buffy picture.

Comments are closed.