Happy Father’s Day!


“A man’s children and his garden both reflect the amount of weeding done during the growing season”.
— Unknown

My father is a man of few words, always has been. He never raised his voice. He didn’t have too. He ruled myself, and three yonger siblings with only a look. Where my mother would use the dreaded yell using all three of my birth given names, when I had done wrong. My Daddy, all he had to do was lower his head a little and squint a green eye back at me and I would feel that I had dissappointed him to no end. My Dad has always been proud of my accomplishments. He has never judged me for a bad decision. He was always there for the after effects to let me know life was not defined by that moment alone and that it would go on.

I left home and joined the Army when I was 22. My Dad drove me to Charlotte to MEPS to shuffle off to Fort Jackson, SC. As I said, a man of few words, he only said one thing, “Everything will be fine.” He was right. He always was and still is.

I met my husband in the Army. They say a girl marries a man in the image of her father. I have to say I must have done something right. My husband, like my Dad is a quiet man. He rules over our two teenage daughters with what else? A firmly squited eye, only now the eye is hazel. But it still has the same effect on our girls. Heck on a good day the younger may cry from the shame of her actions. He a good man and I couldn’t have done any better.

So this Father’s Day I say “Salute!” to my Dad and my husband, the two most important men in my life.

Father’s Day is a day of commemoration and celebration of Dad. It is a day to not only honor your father, but all men who have acted as a father figure in your life – whether as Stepfathers, Uncles, Grandfathers, or “Big Brothers.”

For more Father’s Day nfo click here, Father’s Day on the NetDid You Know: Father’s Day 

 

