Say Hello to Meesha Mink: Author of the new book Real Wifeys: On the Grind


Good morning everyone, with the mountain of snow outside I think it’s only fitting that we warm it up a little in here today.

 

So to bring the real heat, straight off the streets, I have a special surprise for you, none other than Ms. Meesha Mink. Meesha is a national bestselling and award-winning author of eleven previous novels.

Leave a comment between 11-16 January and you’ll be entered to win a free copy of Meesha’s new book, Real Wifeys: On the Grind. For now, join me in welcoming Meesha Mink to the stage. Welcome Meesha.

First, I want to thank you for having me on your blog today. Like any writer I love, love, love a chance to talk about my books and share them with new readers.

 

REAL WIFEYS: ON THE GRIND

is a really interesting coming of age story about Goldie, a young girl, who struggles with three major points in her life. The first part was growing up extremely poor and having a desire for money. The next hurdle for her, after finding a hustle to make money, was her gaining power by being a boss of her situation, and then the book shifts into events that lead to her having to make a choice between her love of money and power versus her self-respect.

 

In today’s society, I think a lot of women–particularly young woman like Goldie–face these types of struggle with money, power, and respect and I definitely wanted to just show how the wrong decisions can bring even more drama into your life than not having that focus.

When I was coming up with Goldie’s hustle to make money–after her lover of the last six or seven years dumps her once, his wife discovers their affair– I remembered my Mom telling me all these crazy stories about people who lived in the projects where she worked for the Housing Authority in Newark. And one of the stories was about a girl who actually ran a strip club out of her apartment on the weekends. Seriously, it blew my mind that 1) someone would be that bold, and 2) I wondered what her motivation was, what her story was. I didn’t know it and so I decided to create it. To shape it and mold it. Everything about the book is fictional but I know that there are so many real women with their eyes on the wrong prize and definitely taking the wrong path to get it, I would like to think that a lesson could also be learned while the readers are being entertained. Definitely some edutainment.

My motivation also was trying my best to deliver a well-written story because of some of the hard knocks that the urban fiction genre takes from others within the writing community. As I stated on my post “I Love Urban Fiction…And?” from my own blogsite:

“Call it whatever kind of fiction you want: urban, hood, inner-city, ghetto, hip-hop. Whatever. We all know what you mean whether we like the term you use or not. All of the books have a commonality: the setting. Characters are different. Motivations are different. Writing skills are different.

Publishing houses are different. Advances, publicity, etc. etc.”

 

 

Like fiction in general, you’re going to have the good, the bad, and the ugly, but I think people lump all the books of this genre together so I think it’s more and more important to have a good segment of the urban fiction writers deliver not just a drama filled story but a well written, cleverly delivered piece of fiction. Period.”

 

Overall I just hope people enjoy the ride as they read the book and are amped for the next installment with a new wifey with her own set of issues!

Meesha Mink is the bestselling and award-winning author of more than twenty books under various pseudonyms. Her solo urban fiction debut, Real Wifeys: OnThe Grind, has been hailed as a “disturbing installment of a gritty new urban series with a down and dirty intensity that’s heartbreaking” by Publisher’s Weekly. The Newark, NJ native is busy at work on a new novel and currently lives in South Carolina.

Contact Meesha at

 

www.twitter.com/infiniteink | www.facebook.com/InfiniteInk | www.myspace.com/meeshaminkwww.hoodwives.com |

 

meeshamink.wordpress.com

